Highlights: Homer Hickam

Several months ago I showed my 9th grade students October Sky. As a quick end-of-class assignment, I had them write Homer Hickam letters expressing their personal reaction to his story.

I expected a few fluffy sentences finished with, “thanks for making your movie” type statement.

I received well-crafted, insightful letters expressing their gratitude for knowing Mr Hickam’s story. They could relate to Hickam’s rocky relationship with his father and feeling trapped by a blue-collar community that tends to discourage higher education.

A few weeks ago I finally mailed them and today I received a reply! The letter was from Mr Hickam’s wife, but it included his photograph signed just for us! I cannot wait to get to school tomorrow and share it with my students – now I need to find a special frame to treasure it always :)

Homer Hickam himself!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Aunt Peg on May 26, 2011 at 6:12 am

    Hey Becky…You continue to inspire me with this year’s experience and how you are certainly making an impression on your students….this is just terrific! So very proud of YOU and especially your students….isn’t it awesome when the “unexpected” happens??? It’ll happen again & again, as long as you keep on INSPIRING those whose lives you will continue to “touch”…..love you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

