This week one year ago…

…I was finishing up my high school student teaching placement.

I only realized that this afternoon when I happened to read my student teaching reflection from that week. Funny how life changes!

Last year I was teaching in an upper/middle-class, college preparatory high school with students who didn’t expect much from me since I was a lowly “student” teacher. This year I am in an impoverished, Title I high school with students who do not understand the importance of earning a high school education.

Last year I was frustrated with the lack of time to develop relationships with students. This year I have earned the trust of my students and have had the opportunity to offer wisdom and advice for their life struggles.

Last year I was taking teacher certification exams. This year I am coaching students to pass exams required for graduation (and taking some more exams of my own).

Last year I was satisfying requirements of a graduate program. This year I feel like I am actually making an impact in the lives of young people.

So thankful for all the changes and growth that has happened in the last year and can’t wait to see what kind of teacher I have become in the next year!

One response to this post.

  1. Congratulations on surviving your first year of teaching! It’s a crazy transition moving from student to teacher but so rewarding.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

