Victory Is Mean 10/6

I’ve been using a pretty serious tough-love approach with my freshmen. Today was there first test and one kid could not keep his mouth shut (to his credit, he wasn’t cheating, he is just unable to stay quiet), so I used my tough love to remind him it was inappropriate to be talking during a test. I never expected what came next:

“Dang, Miss. You’re mean.”

Ha, those of you who know me know it’s a stretch for me to even try to be mean. In a twisted way, this was a huge victory today.

I’m celebrating by getting ready for a match rocket lab tomorrow and an early bed time :)

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kim on October 6, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    Haha. All of my kids parents who came in for Open House said their kids love how laid back I am – except my freshman parents who asked why I was so strict with the kids! They really need it, though. What is beautiful is to see when the kids start to come around and realize that tough love is still love!

    Reply

  2. Posted by kath on October 6, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    That is one of the best compliments! It means you mean business! Word will spread quickly. Good job!

    Reply

  3. Posted by hmc on October 6, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    Two goals every teacher should have (at least middle to high school):
    #1: Don’t smile until Christmas
    #2: “Make” a student cry before Christmas

    Reply

    • Posted by Becky on October 6, 2010 at 9:22 pm

      Haha, well, I fail miserably at #1 and I’m glad my students know I have a sense of humor!

      Definitely achieved #2 last week.

      Reply

  4. Posted by Aunt Peggy on October 7, 2010 at 9:49 am

    Yep, you finally did it Becky. Tough-love is the only way to clearly show that you care. And you did it. It does hurt to hear the kids you work so hard to get to say that they “hate you” or that “you’re mean”, but once you hit that, you know they are listening. They’ll come around and you’ll get more used to that part of teaching. Keep your chin up and don’t lose that super-confident Becky that we all know & love!! love, a.peg

    Reply

  5. It’s ok to have them say you are mean. It means that you are enforcing rules. This year our freshmen seem more trouble than usual and are calling lots of teachers mean. It seems that some of the middle schools they came from were a little lax about enforcing certain rules and behavior expectations. Don’t let it bother you!

    Keep up the good work.

    Also, I put up a lot of what I’m doing with my physics classes on this site. Please help your self to anything I’m doing.
    http://mrandradesphysics.blogspot.com/

    Dave

    Reply

Leave a Reply

