BIG NEWS!! (x3)

1) Almost as exciting as getting a teaching job, is getting the keys to my classroom :)

All the keys I'll need to get me in and out of the classroom, building, and (most importantly) desk/filing cabinets!

Here are some views of my naked classroom:

View from student entrance - white boards on the left.

Students enter the class from a hallway that overlooks the strip and mountains!

The right side of the classroom (door behind view)

I have the privilege of moving all that furniture!

View of the student door and my desk from the teacher door.

Yup, that’s right a teacher and a student door: the teacher door leads to a secret hallway that connects all the science classrooms with the science teacher room, bathrooms, etc! And finally…

The white boards (2 on the right and 1 on the left), bulletin board, my desk, and the front lab bench.

I know I want to put up a wall that is dedicated to pictures and cut outs of science in the real world and I’ve got some posters of my favorite Broadway shows (I’m all about being well rounded!) that all need to be hung somewhere.

I also have the biggest craving to paint all the walls Kermit the Frog green! If any one is reading this (since it’s definitely still summer vacation!!) I am looking for some input into how to set up and decorate the room. Please send me your clever ideas!

2) In other news: remember way-back-when when I blogged about the Channel 13 Celebration of Teaching and Learning? Well, I’ve just written them a post recalling some of the highlights of the weekend.

3) Planning for my first year will begin soon, so stay tuned for the “My First Year” series that I’ll be starting in the next couple weeks along the same lines as last year’s student teaching reflections.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Meaghan on August 3, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    Use fabric and lighting to decorate your classroom. It will help make it a little more “homey”. Instead of always using overhead lighting, if you can bring in your own floor lamps that will definitely create a comforting room!

    Love the classroom! It looks beautiful!

    Reply

    • Posted by Becky on August 3, 2010 at 8:40 pm

      Thanks Meg – I like those ideas a lot! I love that the classroom is brand new and so big, but it’s proving to be a daunting task!

      Reply

    • Posted by Goofy Aunt Peggy on August 12, 2010 at 8:06 am

      Yep, natural light is the best in any classroom, PLUS, every year I buy new posters for the room–the kids LOVE to see what I’ve gotten put up each year…inspirational, thought-provoking, FUNNY, posters, “words of wisdom”–posters that not only identify with their purpose on this earth, BUT also are a reflection of who I AM as their teacher…..some a course-related as well (Health stuff for me)….what a great room, though–LOTS OF SPACE–that’s what all teachers need, and usually never get, so USE that space to your advantage! Go forward, Mrs. McCoy, and PROSPER and influence these young minds….You’ll be terrific and, as you are YOUNG, they will connect very, very well with you and your energy and MOTIVATION! love you…a.peg

      Reply

  2. Hi there!

    Beautiful room you’ve got! And is that a mounted projector I see? If so, congrats – its a must-have that changes the way you teach if you have ever taught without one!

    As for decor, I agree with Meaghan that “homey” is nice…however I did try that my first year and it sort of failed because the custodians were not fond of my floor rug and it was just a mess after awhile. Also with your being a science teacher in a lab-oriented room, I’d be careful about having fabric hanging around just for safety reasons (not to mention unannounced fire inspections!)

    I think your ideas are a great starting point. Although decor is important for welcoming kids to class, the more stuff you collect as a teacher the more you’ll probably find yourself leaning towards minimalism (or at least that’s been my experience – I teach high school Spanish so at first I was all about tapestries, sombreros, piñatas, the whole nine years, and then I just kind of got overwhelmed! I now love the end of the school year for the purging process – getting things back to a manageable state). Also I don’t know if you’ll deal with this or not but in my school we share classrooms with at least one other teacher & so we have to discuss setup/decor with them; we also are often moved from classroom to classroom each year so for me its been very helpful to have good storage (wheeled tupperware drawers, bins, etc) – things that you can use during the year but can also pack up easily to move around the building if necessary.

    Hope that helps a bit! Good luck and I look forward to your New Teacher Series!! Bravo for starting to blog now – you’ll love looking back on those first year anecdotes!

    Reply

    • Posted by Becky on August 3, 2010 at 10:20 pm

      Thanks Becky! I’ll be the only one teaching in the room and the principal said I can leave everything up over the summer next year, so I don’t have to worry about things being too permanent – let me know if you think of anything else!

      Reply

  3. Posted by Molly on August 7, 2010 at 11:31 am

    wow…big! The more posters the better so that at least if your kids start zoning out they’re staring at science things (spoken from experience :-). I like the floor lamps idea, it would make the classroom seem more like Starbucks or something.

    Reply

  4. I love the idea of the teacher hallway leading to the science rooms and faculty room. Do you have a layout diagram or print of the school? I’d love to see it.

    We are hopefully building a new science and technology regional magnet high school and I’m trying to get ideas for the design.

    Thanks.!

    Reply

    • Posted by Becky on October 11, 2010 at 11:53 am

      I think the easiest way would be to contact the district directly (ccsd.net) because they use one site plan for all the schools built within a certain time period. We’re the newest design.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

