My Teaching Portfolio

Awhile ago I wrote about Teaching Portfolios and brainstormed what to include in my own. Well, it’s finished! Here’s the final product:

Index: I found super funky section dividers at Staples that I used to color code the sections of my portfolio. I used these to create a user-friendly index.

Personal Section: BLACK

  • Teaching Philosophy
  • Resume

  • Test Scores
  • Grad School Transcript (this and the test scores might be a bit much, but in the case that a principal wants a copy and I don’t have any with me, I can just pull them out!)
  • References

Someone recommended I mention the blog as often as possible, so I added a line at the bottom of my references sheet that reads, “For more information, visit my blog: https://justcallmemsfrizzle.wordpress.com”

High School Samples: DARK BLUE

These fantastic section dividers have tabs that you can move anywhere along the side, top, or bottom!

  • 2 samples of high school level lessons
  • Student work associated with the lessons

Middle School Samples: RED


  • 2 samples of middle school level lessons
  • Student work associated with the lessons

Evaluations: TEAL


  • Student Teaching Supervisor’s Observations
  • Cooperating Teachers’ Evaluations

Blog Entries/Teacher as Researcher: ORANGE


  • Sample blog entries – to show the amount of work I  have put into my teaching so far, as well as proof of my ability to use social media in an educational setting.
  • Teacher as Researcher: Parents & the Community project – I am always interested in learning new things and hope a sample of this project will assure a principal that I am always ready for some professional development through workshops and research!

If this post leaves you with questions, please don’t hesitate to email me!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tierney on June 16, 2010 at 12:24 am

    Hi. Thank you so much for posting your portfolio. I have already spent months assembling my materials and writing the content; but for reason I needed a VISUAL to actually get started on MAKING the portfolio! I look forward to reading your blog. Thanks again.

    Reply

  2. Posted by hilary on March 18, 2013 at 4:31 pm

    I like your portfolio – it is not cute (like some of the other ones I have seen – I am a grown-up!) It looks neat, professional, and concise. Thank you!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ritchell on June 1, 2013 at 3:11 am

    What kind of binder did you use and where did you get it?

    Reply

    • I used a 1/2″ binder from one of the big office stores (can’t remember which) that has a clear front pocket. It’s three rings, but not a hard cover. I just browsed until I found something I liked.

      Reply

  4. Posted by Ritchell on June 2, 2013 at 12:50 am

    Thank you! Also, do you think it would be appropriate to put a picture with the students from my student-teaching in the cover or should I just put my information? Thanks.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Karen on October 11, 2013 at 6:26 pm

    Thank you so much It gave me some insight to what I can add to my portfolio and I like the way you put your binder together ,great ideas!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

