Student Teaching Weeks 7 & 8

In week 7, I finished up my high school rotation and had a week to wind down!

WEEK 8:

MONDAY – I got to observe and assist on my first day for 6th grade lessons in Photosynthesis and 7th grade lessons in the circulatory system. The 6th graders are learning from the FOSS Populations & Ecosystems curriculum, which has some really great examples, questions, and discussion points. The kids seem to enjoy it. I especially liked the data table given in which the students determined by analyzing data that H20, Light, and C2. The kids definitely felt like investigative scientists! We had a discussion regarding photosynthesis and that it is so important for humans because plants are the base layer of the food web; we concluded that photosynthesis is possibly the most important chemical reaction on the planet.

One student came up to me and asked, “Are you a student teacher? We never get student teachers in science!” It was really wonderful to be welcomed so wholeheartedly!

TUESDAY – I spent the day making this in order to teach trophic levels on Wednesday. It was nice to have a prep activity to work on. I also had the opportunity to plan with the science teacher and special ed teacher for the mixed special ed and general ed class.

WEDNESDAY – We had an incident, so I got to experience the excitement of an “investigation”. As students and I were rounding the corner to the classroom, we heard a crash and saw glass falling from the ceiling. I hustled kids into a room and took statements for the Vice Principal while encouraging students not to conspire about what happened, but simply write what they observed. It was exciting to see they were very truthful. It turned out that a student jumped to hit the clock and the face of the clock shattered. When questioned by the Principal, the student fiercely denied it – even when the Principal pointed out the blood on the students’ hands. The teachers were overjoyed because this was the last straw in suspending an incredibly disruptive student who had not received any discipline for any of his behavior.

I also thought that the act of writing what they observed could be transformed into a great science activity/discussion – watch something and write all your observations. How does point of view change from person to person?

With the 7th graders, we did an activity from the SEPUP curriculum that modeled the circulatory system. The kids seemed to enjoy the chance to get outside and some commented on how it was a great illustration for them.

THURSDAY – My cooperating teacher was out, so I was able to teach on my own for the whole day! I had a great time :)

FRIDAY – Total chaos the day before break. I was exhausted at the end of the day.

I really enjoy the excitement of the middle school classroom, but I miss the high schoolers. I look forward to (hopefully) getting a high school teaching job!

Leave a Reply

