Student Teaching Week 4 [2/8-2/12]

Another super fast week!

MONDAY – Physics classes did a pendulum lab and learned about periodic motion. They learned about string and spring pendulums and discovered which variables determine the period. I was able to teach the second period of this lab and I felt it went really well for my first time teaching anything in awhile! I need to work on slowing down when giving directions – I tend to go so fast I lose the whole class! My cooperating teacher said I did a good job of managing time and including students in writing on the board as well as small group work and exit cards. I was really pleased that students were honest on their cards.

TUESDAY – The physics classes completed the second half of the lab by answering some related questions and doing calculations to find the theoretical period related to the data they collected.

As part of the exit card, I asked students to evaluate their class participation, including a goal for themselves. Here’s my favorite response:

“I followed orders well.”

Haha, I know I can be tough, but I never would have described myself as militant!

WEDENSDAY – SNOW DAY!

THURSDAY – In order to help students participate more (their goal from Tuesday), I made numbered cards that I handed out to students. Most times I asked a question, I would draw a number out of a bag and the student who corresponded to that number had to answer the question. They were not too excited about my little “game”, but there was more voluntary participation than usual.

The lesson I taught was a transition to waves from periodic motion. I think the lesson as a whole went well, but I lost the kids when I transitioned from simple harmonic motion to waves.

The next period (and after a lunch time pow-wow with my cooperating teacher) I approached the transition with more explicit statements and the kids seemed to follow along more easily. They were very eager to participate in the human wave activities (videos to follow).

I was also warned that I need to have jokes prepared for that period – they like to be entertained! Any good joke suggestions?

Friday hasn’t rolled around yet, but it is going to be full of planning for after February break and finishing some school assignments. My last certification exam a week from Saturday!!!!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Emily on February 11, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    I still remember a science joke Dr. Carlton shared in high school. Not physics, but…
    Two atoms were walking down the road when one took a good spill. The other asked if he was alright, and the atom responded, “I think I lost an electron.” His companion asked if he was sure, and he answered, “I’m positive!”

    Reply

    • Posted by Becky on February 11, 2010 at 8:42 pm

      Haha…I think it might be too dorky for them…I told a nerdy science joke today and they told me it wasn’t good enough…no pressure!

      How are your kids?

      Reply

  2. Posted by Emily on February 12, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    Yeah, it is awfully nerdy, I realize that :-) My kids are having ups and downs, but they’re making progress, and they always make me smile.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

