Steve Spangler Giveaway: UV Energy Beads

Details on a giveaway of really cool UV Beads:

Bring out the UV Detective inside of you with the Steve Spangler UV Energy Beads! Steve Spangler science toys are an excellent way to introduce science in a fun way that kids understand. Read about the experience mom blogger Kalisha at UV Skinz had with these cool science toys and enter to WIN UV Energy Beads for your children! Giveaway ends July 12. Open to U.S. only.

Be sure to enter and get some new toys!!!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Interesting.

    I noticed Steve covered the beads with a black sheet, so I fired off a question to him to ask how much protection one gets from say, a white shirt, compared to a high actor sunscreen?

    I’ll let you know when I get an answer, or if you have the beads, have you tried that experiment?

    All the best.

    Reply

    • Posted by rebbieg on July 11, 2009 at 12:55 pm

      Honestly, I’d never heard of them until I saw the post. I’d be interested to see what you hear…I’ve seen the UV shirts/bags/hats like UVSkins sells, but never the beads. Let me know!!

      Reply

  2. I work for Steve Spangler and I have done the UV test several times but I have never tried testing the protection of a white shirt. Good question! I just happen to be wearing a white shirt today so I tried it. The shirt is giving me a lot of protection, but the beads did turn a pale color, so it isn’t full protection, like a black sheet. When I have tested sunscreens I have also found that no matter how strong the sunscreen is, the beads will always turn color at least a little in the sunlight. I’m going to say the white shirt and the high SPF sunscreen will give you about the same protection. Have you tried doing any experiments with the beads?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

